The Place Royale is located along the Saint Lawrence River within the lower town. In 1660 the Place Royale was a ”place d’armes”, or parade ground. Its name, Place Royale, was decided when Jean Bochart de Champigny had a King Louis XIV bust constructed in the center in 1686. A quaint stone chapel was built in 1688 by Monsignor de Saint Vallier at the request of his predecessor, Monsignor François de Laval. In 1690 the chapel was named Notre-Dame-de-la-Victoire, but was renamed Notre-Dame-des-Victoires in 1711.
From the late 17th century to the 19th century, the square was used as a market place. By the 19th century the square had become an urban area lined with houses and contained two other markets, warehouses, and shops. In the 1960s and 1970s the Place Royale went under major restoration when the Government of Quebec sought to bring it back to the style of the 18th century–giving it the appearance that it might have had at the end of the French Regime. However, since the restoration was just an effort to emulate the architecture of a bygone era, it is not considered to have great historical value. Still, the square itself, dating back four centuries, maintains significant importance as a historical treasure.
Place Royale Attractions
The cobblestones of the Place Royale give the picturesque square a charming ambiance, while the Notre-Dame-des-Victoires provides a conspicuous and historical landmark. Shopping and fine dining are in abundance, as well as other cultural attractions including festivals, folk dances, and concerts.
Inside the Interpretation Center, multiple exhibitions take its visitors through the past four centuries and the development of the Place Royale. The 3D film entertains patrons, while informing them at the same time. Centre d’Interprétation de Place-Royal is an educational, multimedia experience filled with history and fun.